Best Rechargeable AA Batteries...

Metal Marauder

Elite Member
Looking for the best AA rechargeable batteries out there. I can only seem to find the 1.2V batteries. Do they make 1.5V rechargeable AA's? Don't I need a full 12V for my Dual Field instead of 9.6V? Looking for some recommendations :?:

Eneloops, or tenergy centuras are a close second, both are low self discharge.

The eneloops come off top charge on my MD's right away then hang in for days showing 3 bars.

Very cool voodoo going on there. :D

I use the energizer recharge nihm, they seem to last 16 to 20 hrs, I used to change them every hunt but lately been only changing every 2-3 hunts depending on how long the hunts are. I have been using for 2 months now, with no problems, I did get 2 extra battery cases for The DF so iam not fumbling with a bag full. the battery cases were only 4 bucks each and make for quick change when needed.

Eneloop, Eneloop, Eneloop: and while you are at it, get the La Crosse Technology BC-700 Alpha Power Battery Charger

You want to get a 'smart' charger, and avoid the quick chargers. Fast charging generates a lot of heat, which shortens the number of recharge cycles you get. Smart chargers will stop the charge when their done, so you can leave them and not worry about overcharging. NiCd and NiMH are both 1.2 volts. The thing about Eneloops, is that the have a low self-discharge, won't go dead sitting unused. Not a huge deal with metal detecting, you usually plan ahead enough to charge up before hand.

Found some rechargeable alkaline batteries, 8 AA's and a charger for $16 early this year. Been working well, no leaks, no issues, last a lot longer than NiMh. Haven't had any leaks or failures from the batteries that came with the charger, but have had some Duracels leak after 5 recharges... The charger is great, it's a smart charger, does both Alkaline, and NiMH, and no heat, not even a little warm. The Company is IGO Green, Canada, I think. The charger is worth $16 by itself.