I'm in the bottle dumps!

mcateercustom

Well let me just say I am new to all this relic hunting so I really don't know anything about it. I found a bottle dump on my great aunts place. It way back in the woods what made me start digging was an old busted churn I found. So I thought there might be some good stuff there. I found a ton of old bottles and there is still a ton more. To me the ones I found are more on the worthless side then on the priceless side lol I was wondering if I should even keep digging them out or not. Here's some pics

Some of them are kinda neat.
2a72ec64302660402b8c3caa8a3ef660.jpg

They are mostly screw tops so I figured they couldnt be that old.
e79a67ae18396b32c069cf9840f88f78.jpg

I found a ton of the things on the right no clue what it is. It has some metal object protruding out that is broke off. My first thought was a fuse. Any ideas?
Then the thing on the left appears solid and kinda light but it's metal. I would guess aluminum.
b16595d27a71940e02ea799c6ec2c815.jpg

Well if I decide to dig some more there I'll post some more when I find some time. Thanks for look and GLH!

Wow love em'! I couldn't tell but are any of the bottles embossed? Wish ya look and looking forward to more pics!

embossed

Raised lettering in the glass.

What to look for:
1. unusual colors- purple, black, green, yellowish brown, cobalt, teal, aqua
2. corkers- obvious bottles whose tops would take corks
3. embossed
4. medicines,inks, bitters, spring water, blown
5. pontils- bottom of bottle has a distinct mark where it looks like it was snapped off
6. imperfections in glass- bubbles , bottles that lean, crude looking from manufacturing process
7. seams on the side- older ones only run partially up bottle
8. older -tops were applied by hand

Bottles that are valuable were not massed produced like today. Unfortunately , what you have is alot of newer type bottles. Keep looking though. There might be some older stuff in the ground that is buried Hope this helps.