Possible problem with E-trac??

4thDoctorWhoFan

I am new to metal detecting and recently purchased an E-trac. I am having an issue in detecting deep targets and your help would be appreciated.

I experimented with a coin garden in my yard and something seems to be off a little.

The main issue is on deeply buried coins. Since I don't have any silver dimes, I buried a clad dime around the 8 to 9 inch range. The detector in auto sensitivity even in the +3 range could not detect the dime. :(

I changed to manual mode and once I changed the setting to a sensitivity of about 25 or 26, I was able to detect the coin. However, at target ID is not steady. The FE numbers will jump all over the place and the CO numbers vary also except not nearly as much.

Am I doing something wrong or is this the typical behavior of the etrac with the stock coil? Or could something not be working correctly with either the coil or the detector?

Any help and insight would be helpful.

Newly buried coins are harder to detect because the ground has been disturbed; in a year or two you'll probably have better results.

You're seeing typical results.

As Ed in KC posted, freshly buried coins are tough for any detector to find. While there are a lot of theories as to why this is so, I believe it has to do with disturbing the ground matrix which makes it tough for a detector to see the difference between the natural ground mineralization, and a deeply buried coin which would have a small change in the signal.

Don't be concerned your E-Trac sounds like it's doing just fine. When you get out in ground that hasn't been disturb, you'll hear those deep coins.