• Forum server maintanace Friday night.(around 7PM Centeral time)
    Website will be off line for a short while.

You may need to log out, log back in after we're back online.

Ok - lets talk manufacturing process / Bottle Type

yacorie

Elite Member
Ok so I'm new to this and I love that the bottle posts have been active lately.

I was thinking it would be nice to have a thread where we can either 1) share pictures of bottles that we have with different techniques or ask opinions on ones we have.

I will admit that I'm still confused by some of the different molding etc. This was especially apparent today when I was finishing going through the bottles I just purchased and realized that bottles I was going to put in the junk boxes for selling were actually older/different than I thought. Now I realize, I probably have to scan through all of the boxes I already put aside.

Here are 3 bottles that I purchased as part of the recent lot. Trying to confirm manufacturing and approximate date range. I was looking online to try and help.

1. what type of manufacturing is this? The bottle is the one on the right (black glass I think) and the bottom has what appears to be a small nipple on it.

2. This bottle appears to have a pontil mark - and no seams so I'm guessing it truely is a blown bottle

3. I thought this was just an applied top but then turned it over and saw the open pontil mark. So I'm guessing this is a 2-seam mold bottle?

4. Is this a round mold? It is definitely not uniform as you can see on the bottom but is obviously round and pushed up some.

Attachments

• IMG_0942.jpg
    IMG_0942.jpg
    56.1 KB · Views: 209
  • IMG_0943.jpg
    IMG_0943.jpg
    95.4 KB · Views: 224
  • IMG_0952.jpg
    IMG_0952.jpg
    67.4 KB · Views: 217
  • IMG_0953.jpg
    IMG_0953.jpg
    108.4 KB · Views: 194
  • IMG_0954.jpg
    IMG_0954.jpg
    84.6 KB · Views: 198
  • IMG_0957.jpg
    IMG_0957.jpg
    113 KB · Views: 183
  • IMG_0956.jpg
    IMG_0956.jpg