Garrett Pro Pointer on it's last leg??

NoxDude

Elite Member
Hey Guys..

I think my pro pointer is on it's way out. Sometimes it will just start to chatter for no reason or if I check out a target it trips out sometimes and I have to turn it off and on to reset. Is it having problems? I would say I have over 4000 cycles on it. My pistol probe works good so far!

ATPro Dude

Hey Guys..

I think my pro pointer is on it's way out. Sometimes it will just start to chatter for no reason or if I check out a target it trips out sometimes and I have to turn it off and on to reset. Is it having problems? I would say I have over 4000 cycles on it. My pistol probe works good so far!

ATPro Dude
Is the foam still up in the cap that holds pressure on the battery? Either way stick a nickel up in the cap and see what happens? You have nothing to loose at this point...

I've been using my GPP for nearly two years now and find it has some pretty odd habits.
It does become attenuated and will remember a certain something about something and lock in on it.
When the GPP is left turned on and laid down on mineralized soil it will eventually begin to chirp.
If not retrieved and turned off it can get pretty insistent.
A weak battery or dirty battery terminals have the same effect.
Check for metallic articles such as zippers or something in a nearby pocket before you condemn this tough little friend.
One tip for quieter searches with the GPP. As sturdily built as it is, the GPP has one structural problem I really don't like.
The circuit board is installed into the shell in a manner it is flat when the off-on button is upward.
The huge hole where the off-on button weakens the shell and it flexes there when the tip of the GPP is pressed a little too hard.
This flexing bows the circuit board and gives false signals, sometime at just the wrong time.
I have found that using the GPP with the off-on button facing the side, rather than the top completely eliminates this problem.