Shallow fresh water, lots of iron. how would you hunt it.

beachdude

Elite Member
I have a freshwater site that is very shallow, maybe knee deep. There are lots of iron nails and various bits of brass, and some old tin can pieces in the matrix. Very little aluminum or bottlecaps.

There are good targets in there though as I have found a few gold rings and lots of old coins over the last few months.

I own an excal 1000 and also an etrac with a standard coil and a 6" exelerator . I find the excal can't really separate the treasure from the trash in this site all that well. It nulls out constantly and the best performance I am getting out of it is when it is in auto sensitivity, because otherwise it falses like crazy. I guess the 800 coil might be better here, but I don't want to spend all that money to get another excal.

I have tried the etrac out with the 6" coil and also the standard coil and this seems to be giving me a bit better separation, but I am still learning the etrac so I may be missing stuff due to my noobie-ness with the detector.

How would you guys hunt a site like this using the gear I currently own?

Etrac and dig only the numbers that say gold. I have a SE and hunting like this, anything that poped up from 1-25 to 14-00 I would dig. That would include all the brass I'm sure, And..Gridit. Years ago I did something similar to Surfdiggers spiral, or Andy Sabischs sprial, I would take a wood pole out in the water with a small rope attached to the middle with a clip for attaching it to my belt loop. Then slowly unwound circling the pole. Then moving on to another area. Only good for lakes or calm water days.

The Excal with a 8 inch coil is better for trashy spots... too bad they are hardwired ;)