• Forum server maintanace Friday night.(around 7PM Centeral time)
    Website will be off line for a short while.

You may need to log out, log back in after we're back online.

Newbie level question re signals

jamiefind

Sorry for the newbie level question. I have an ACE 350: It pings one of three audio signals when it finds a target, and then it lets me use the pinpoint button to zero in on the spot where the signal is strongest. I have noticed that the audio feedback in the pinpoint mode is really helpful...it's like the difference between analog and digital...I get a lot more information as I move the coil around and listen to the strength of the audio signal go in and out. It's almost like the detector is letting me hear the "raw" target signal.

As a former engineer, I've tried to roll my sleeves up and learn the science behind metal detecting. I know the 350 is a vlf machine, and I know that it is constantly trying to sense the ferrous magnetism and the eddy currents exhibited by the targets all while trying to tune out the ground signals (colloquially termed mineralization).

So what am I hearing when I press the pinpoint button? I imagine I am hearing only one single type of signal feedback "live," while ignoring other types of feedback, since the unit probably gets to relax and stop processing and deciphering so much.

I feel like I'm missing stuff when I DON'T use the pinpoint button. There have been times when I have discovered other signals using pinpoint function that did not register as any audio beeps otherwise. Make sense?

Thanks

I feel like I'm missing stuff when I DON'T use the pinpoint button. There have been times when I have discovered other signals using pinpoint function that did not register as any audio beeps otherwise. Make sense?

Thanks