All Metal Detecting or Tone Detecting

rjjdog

Forum Supporter
Would i be better off, setting my detector to find all metals or start learning how to listen by tones? So far ive only done all metals. Thanks!

When learning a machine you want to try all metal mostly so that you can train your ear to each tone/ item.

If you find yourself in an area where all you are digging is nails, you might want to disc out the iron, and dig everything else.

For me, I started out digging everything, but depending on the area and how trashy it was depended on if I used any Disc or not.

Most times, for my detector, I disc out iron and dig everythig above iron. But, sometimes I will go back to an area that I had disc iron in, and dig the iron signals.

Basically dig it all, miss nothing... but if you're coin shooting, disc all but coins, and enjoy.

I'm new to this hobby but MD on all coins because thats what I'm looking for and gives me good practice on them. On all metal, lots of foil and junk, which comes with the hobby indeed, but I am happy with coins and little stuff right now. I found a cool Smokey The Bear Pin this morning....and it came up as a Nickel.

I go by tones only in the all metal mode, unless I'm in dry sand and then I scoop everything. I very seldom look at the readings. The Minelab is just the easiest MD to use I cant say enough good things about it

I am using my first multi-tone machine. It is taking some time, but I am getting used to what it is telling me. I am still digging everything because I don't have it "down" yet.

Doug

Ooo boy! I bet you're getting the exercise:lol: One thing to remember-the location is everything. At a tot lot-maybe all metal. At a trash-laden site-well, er, no. Not me. If you find a hot spot-bite the bullet and probe, probe, probe! in all metal.