Best detector for the money HELP!

Wichkans

Hello ALL, I am very new to the MD hobby, so new I don't have a detector yet.

If I had $450 to spend what detector do you think would be the best for coin shooting, jewelry and relic hunting.

Thanks

Hello ALL, I am very new to the MD hobby, so new I don't have a detector yet.

If I had $450 to spend what detector do you think would be the best for coin shooting, jewelry and relic hunting.

Thanks

I would call one of the sponsors (the ever-so-changing url links at the upper right corner... i.e. Hollands Brook, Big Boys Hobbies, KellyCo, New England Detectors, etc). I hear LOTS of good things when it comes to Big Boys Hobbies, when it comes down to it. Anyways, that is what "I" would do. As for me, I still consider myself "NEW". I personally don't "Relic hunt", but just recently found out that you need a MD'r that has High Freq, say like a 12kHz or there abouts and prefer Manual Ground Balance. I will let the more experienced guys chime in on that one. One of the biggest things to consider that MANY do NOT take into consideration is: 1) do I want a dig and beep machine or 2) do I want a machine that has a VDI and/or visual display screen (i.e. something like... for EXAMPLE, a Garrett AT Pro vs a Tesoro)??? Anyways, food for thought... HH \_ with whatever you decide to get.

At pro is hands down the best value for any detector in any price category. It has a lot of features for the price much more than machines costing much more.

If I had to start out again, but with a budget of $500, and knowing what I do now...I'd look for a used Teknetics T2, which can be had for $400-450. It's a proven relic hunter, and works great for silver and old coins as well.

I have used the AT Pro for 9 months. It is light, waterproof, and it has a fast recovery speed.

Once I figured how to use it, I began finding silver coins, old coins, and now, I began finding gold.