Is it the area's or my detectors???

sgtwilks

Forum Supporter
My first find was a 14 kt gold ring on a heavily searched old swimming lake that has never turned up a coin in 6 trips there and countless hours.(I'm thinking it was dumb luck) Ive searched older parks and schools and my only finds were clad about 60 bucks worth in the last month or so. These finds were with my fisher 1225x.

I bought a Garrett ace 250 and found some more clad and a sterling belt buckle.

I to date I found no silver coins and only a few wheat pennies.

My Garrett is ok finds deep coins and is pretty good at discriminating trash but my fisher is far more accurate at pin pointing objects.

What I'm asking is are these results normal for a novice?? I also need advise on my Garrett if anyone has time. Its a little frustrating to use and I go back to my fisher sometimes.

I think it's a little bit of both. I've been doing this for four years and have only found three silver coins and five silver rings. I used to run the 250 but use a Tesoro now. If you keep digging the silver will come. I have two silver rings in three hunts this year. Sometimes it IS location. But mostly, like you said, it's just getting your coil over the right place. It'll all come together for you. Promise.