How do I begin to know what to buy?

MS Delta girl

I need help. I've never used a MD before, but I'm not afraid to learn. Will be hunting on my father's property in the MS Delta that was originally part of the Dancing Rabbit Treaty with the Choctaw Indians. There's lots of acreage, but I'll mainly want to hunt at old home sites and on the banks of a fairly large lake. I'm looking for old coins, bottles, Indian artifacts.
I would love to hear from you pros that have had some experience with finding Indian artifacts. If it's there, is it even possible to find?
I would love to stay under $350 if possible.

Hi,

Sounds like you got some fun ahead. Good luck in your outings.

I recently wanted a second detector and my price range was about the same as you indicated. It's very intiminating with all the brands, features, etc.

But after much research I decided to go with the Whites Prizm IV. This unit is in your price range and has the ability to help you find what your after.

I'm sure you will get alot of different opinions depending on what others have used. But I would say to deff consider a prizm IV.

Welcome to the hobby.

Lots of considerations to be made when starting out, apart from how much you want to spend.
Weight can be a major factor for some, although a harness can help with the heavier machines. If possible get to a dealer and try a few machines out, see what you feel comfortable with, and don't be afraid of buying a used detector. They don't wear out, but some people change their machines, every time a new one comes on the market, so a used detector will give you more for your money.