New guy, New question

Big Treble

Forum Supporter
Hello, I am new to this hobby, like I need another. I just purchased a Garret Ace 350. My greatest concern is whether my proceeds from this hobby will put me in a higher tax bracket. I have only been out about one to two hrs, but have already found an old blade for a butcher knife and a buckle off a pair of bibs(feelin richer already). When I find cash and gold, how do I report this to the IRS? Im sure you guys do, I wouldn't feel good if I didn't.

If I find anything of great value then I may have to make a decision to report it. However if I find a ring or 2, I doubt the IRS will know about it. ^_^ Just my humble opinion.

Just my 2 cents, (that's all the coinage I have found so far) should I report the value of the metal I have found. Nails, hinges and assorted bits of metal, most unidentifiable.
Do I need a tax number to be a detector? :roll:

But I refuse to give up!!!

If it's out there, will find it. I believe!!!

Hello, I am new to this hobby, like I need another. I just purchased a Garret Ace 350. My greatest concern is whether my proceeds from this hobby will put me in a higher tax bracket. I have only been out about one to two hrs, but have already found an old blade for a butcher knife and a buckle off a pair of bibs(feelin richer already). When I find cash and gold, how do I report this to the IRS? Im sure you guys do, I wouldn't feel good if I didn't.

i don't report a single thing to the IRS. if i were to go out right now and dig up a bazillion dollars, the IRS would not hear about it. well, they might read about it in the paper, but there's not very much they could do to me. :laughing:

Well thanks for the warm welcome. Maybe I should have used some of those smiley thingys to express my humor. Just kidding on reporting finds to the government. Thought you guys would appreciate my optimism in finding "riches" :lol: