ETRAC FE/CO questions VDI

TheCoilist

Elite Member
Okay, so going to a trashy field yesterday I was doing some testing with the patterns I installed on the ETRAC.

I have some questions about the FE/CO numbers I should be looking for. It seems that the emulator program with US coins installed was giving some good numbers for me to listen/look out for. Well, I didn't see too many of those signals in the ground.

My question is what FE/CO numbers are the ones REALLY to look for? I was told the numbers to look for are as follows:

FE: 1-3 AND 11-13
CO: 11-15 AND 25-50

Now, I guess I am trying to find out why none of the coins I dug rang up in any of those ranges. One being a wheat penny which was actually ringing in at a 12/44 a couple of times on the machine. I use the numbers because I am still learning/processing the tones. I would get lots of great sounding tones for FE/CO numbers that were not in that range listed above.

I also was finding a lot of 18/4* and 19/4* numbers which I didn't dig thinking it was too high of an FE number. Though the tones sounded great on multi/conduct tone response.

I guess maybe I am still not understanding the FE/CO numbers. Anyone care to explain this for me? Thanks!

I asked a similar question myself.

You numbers look good.

For coin shooting and general use what you said is normally the case.

FE 11-12 CO 25-50. USUALLY

These are just a guide and can vary greatly. Depth/Soil conditions can make these things vary and jump around.

So what is the purpose of throwing the machine into a wide open quick mask?

My other curiousity is why would patterns be so widely open for instance people say the coin program on the etrac's default is a good one to use, but it's such a wide open program, it picks up everything under the sun. Not just items close to the coin's range.