Prizm II

Ray Whidbey Island

New to the group so Hi all really enjoy reading all of the posts. I am also new to MD. Just got my first detector for Christmas and have done a little playing. Is there any fast and easy rule for setting the sensitivity....could not really find any solid information in the book or on Whites web site. So far a few clad coins and a Tootsie Toy die cast car at about 5" in the back yard.....to me a great find..since house is a single owner with no kids....

Welcome to the forum and hobby Ray. Darn glad to have you aboard. The preset sensitity is good and works well. Sometimes I will set the sensitivity as high as I can without the detector become erratic, giving false signals.

I run mine as high as possible but mostly around 6. I will run it up to 8 and if I start getting too many false signals, I will back it down to 6. Also I have found that you have to be carefull on rings as they will ID as pure pull tabs when I put one on the ground to test. That is probably why I am not finding any. There is a lot to be said about digging everything.
pop

Had to laugh

Ray,

First of all welcome to the forum....New to MD'ing myself....Funny thing is though, my very first find was a Tootsie Toy die cast car in my yard about 3 inches deep.... I did a google on them and found some can be worth a couple of dollars, depending on condition....My was a dragster but the nose was all bent and it was missing the front set of wheels....Good luck with the hobby....

Prizm

HI Ray welcome to the forum.I am new to it myself,and coincidently just ordered a Prizm.Should be here tomorrow,I ordered it from Clevengers in KC MO.
Iv,e bought several detectors from them in the past and their delivery is FAST,ussualy 1or 2 days by ups.
So anyway regarding the Prizm I hope you will share tips with us as you learn as I will,and Be sure to show us your finds.
Happy Hunting,Mont

Pizm(4)

Yesterday we got some spotty rain,then overcast.