Lesche Knife/digger

cfuller3

Forum Supporter
Don't know if I spelled that right. But has anyone been using it long enough to comment on how well the handle can take "palm pounding" to get it in the ground. Also how well does your palm do after banging away on it all day? I'm seeing it as a bicycle type grip and thinking one day it'll have a knife handle poking out the back of it about the time I cram my palm into it. Doesn't make me think it's as rugged as the wooden handle knife/digger I've been using. Also, your thinking about the offset blade from the handle. What's the reason and what's it do for you? :?: Been unable to find the straight, no off-set blade type knife/digger I'm using.

LESCHE Digger

I have been using the same LESCHE for 5 years (sharpened twice). The lables have all peeled off, but the handle grip and blade are still in great shape...I have pried large rocks and pieces of metal out of the dirt, that would have snapped other blades in half...If you can break one of these under normal use, you got a bad one, or your king kong...
Not sure about the offset handle...maybe to absorb shock...maybe to make digging easier...I have no clue...

HH,

This has to be the most popular digger going. Have never heard anything bad about this tool. Funny part is in 20 years of metal detecting I've never actually seen one in person. The few people in my area who hunt (and that I know) all use some other gadget. Most like some kind of knife or garden trowel.

My favorite tool is the US Ka-Bar marine knife. I've serrated the blade and have used the same knife for 20 years. No way you can break one or even bend one. I've driven it into hard ground with a length of wood like a mallet. No problem.

OT