Windows and Equinox updates

maxxkatt

Forum Supporter
I know this might normally be off topic, but now Nox users need a computer to update their detector firmware so this is relevant.

You should have the latest version of Mac O/S or Windows O/S installed on your computer. I know that may be a painful solution to those with older computers and legacy software. This was me 2-3 years ago. I am a long time developer of software running under Windows.

I can't say much about the mac since I am a windows guy. Here is my take on windows from may years of experience.

Every windows operating system up to Windows XP sucked. Main reason Microsoft just added software layers to MS-DOS (a very good OS) to create windows. So you were running MS-dos and on top of it like an application running windows. From windows 1.01 it was just chewing gum and bailing wire method of creating a new OS. They finally got it right with Windows XP.

But no, they could not leave well enough alone and came out with Windows Vista (to make windows more Mac Like). it sucked big time. Changed the look and feel and everyone was totally lost on trying to find anything remotely familiar on the desktop.

tried to fix with windows 7 - but no cigar.
same with windows 8
MS gave freaking up on windows 9 I guess.

They finally got it right with windows 10 and have since pretty much left windows 10 alone in terms of major screwups. Also they got rid of steve ballmer who was running MS during all these screwed up OS releases. He had no background at all with computers or software. His claim to fame was marketing and was Bill Gate's college roommate. How about that for job qualifications.