Safari -pennies id like dimes and quarters?

JIM BL

On my safari, nickels usually id at 14-15,pennies at 34-35,dimes at37
and quarters at 37-38. I dug a lot of clad pennies today,as they were iding as high as 39. Maybe there is a good reason. This was in real sticky mud. I welcome any ideas or history.

Sorry Jim, I don't have answers! But I am interested in what other viewers have to say about this, as the safari is on my shopping list!

I have an E Trac not a Safari and to be honest I am still learning it. But I noticed that target ID can be manipulated by a few things.

Ground Minerals
Ground Moisture
Noise cancelling channel
The year pennies were minted
Depth of the target

On the Etrac usually anything above 40 conductive is not a penny. But there have been exceptions. A penny can be anywhere in the 30's conductive.

So to be honest I just don't think that Minelab units can give an absolute coin ID.

Well I just traded my f75 ltd for a safari should have it tuesday, but anyways I went out with the f75 twice before I traded it and the same thing was happening with me, I was digging a bunch of pennies and thought were quarter or dimes. I am in northeast ohio. it must be because there is still alot of water in the ground now, that is my guess.
mike

I am new to the forum, but I got a new Safari and all I been getting is pennies As far a coins go, but i hope to get something else soon laughing. I think it is going to be a fine investment. I been getting a coin out of three dug holes. I am a newbie to this machine. Had a MAT before this and did allot of digging of junk but also a few good silver mercs. Anyway. I will be trying mine on a 1860 tobacco farm in East Tn this weekend while turkey hunting. Can you ask for anything more? :lol::laughing:

I have an E Trac not a Safari and to be honest I am still learning it. But I noticed that target ID can be manipulated by a few things.

Ground Minerals
Ground Moisture
Noise cancelling channel
The year pennies were minted