Locating places from old Topo maps

Jeepfreak81

Hi All, so I'm still pretty new at this but after searching some old topo maps I've found a few places I'd like to investigate further. However, it's really hard to figure out where they are specifically. Some are surrounded by lots of woods and an old road but nothing else.

I'm trying to figure out if there's a way to approximate GPS coordinates somehow. Has anyone else come across similar issues? Or is it just a matter of walking all over the woods and hoping you come across something obvious?

Even in the age of GPS, it's still important to be able to use a map. A GPS isn't enough when there's a swamp/cliff/river/thicket/ravine/etc. between you and your target. You can't just walk in a straight line until you get there.

I had a great time learning map reading... there's a lot more to it than lat and lon. You learn to read the details on the map, and recognize them on the ground... slopes, ridges, streambeds, etc. The features can be followed to the target just like you'd follow streets and intersections in a city. In New Hampshire, there are plenty of reference points!

Get a modern topo map of where you live, and it'll be easy to learn how the map relates to the landscape.

Ok I guess what I need to do is learn how to properly read the map. I have basic map reading skills but need to be able to properly interpret the actual long/lat.

Oh and yes, I can put that into my GPS :roll::laughing:

I don't intend to use the GPS to walk a straight line to the location, but it would be nice to know I'm searching in the right area. Perhaps a free online map reading course is in my future.

It's called orienteering. May books on the subject. As was said, using a compass and a topo to find your way, being able to relate what you see on the map to natural features and use those as guide posts. Even how to triangulate your location using the compass and distant features.