Seeking advice...

chanman

Forum Supporter
Hello folks! I live in a house which was built in 1835. The backyard is fairly large, and runs to the back alley. I am new to detecting, and just purchased a Tesoro Mojave. My father decided to give me his AT Pro yesterday, as he is uninterested in the hobby at this point. I want to hit my property HARD, and am wondering how to go about it. I haven't had time to detect it yet, (due to work and weather), but I did swing around the backyard for about two minutes before work this morning. The folks who lived here before me had several kids, and it seems as though they took full advantage of the back yard, as I can see plenty of toy cars and such sticking out of the dirt just walking around. When I swung the detectors around, they were VERY noisy! I mean EXTREMELY NOISY! I think the yard is just littered with almost 200 years of trash under that dirt. How should I approach hunting this type of area? I wasn't sure if I should start by picking surface signals at lowest sensitivity with the Mojave, and gradually work my way to deep iron signals at full sensitivity with the AT Pro once I had cleared out shallow trash? It seems as though I get a repeatable signals every couple swings, and between that is wild chatter, even after reducing sensitivity, ground balancing, and discrimination. Thanks in advance for any thoughts. I just KNOW there is some history under my ground!

You and I have similar stories. My yard is the same way although built in later 1800's. When i swipe over it I see my VDI change numbers like its counting milliseconds.

First: try and find a quite part of the yard.
Second: learn Pro mode with your discrim put at around 30-32
Third: work your way in from said "quite area" Odds are most your good targets are masked so you have a dilemma. Dig every signal and make your wife hate you for destroying the yard Or focus your solid targets
Fourth: find a new place to hunt because my yard stresses me out.