• Forum server maintanace Friday night.(around 7PM Centeral time)
    Website will be off line for a short while.

You may need to log out, log back in after we're back online.

Bounty Hunter Tracker IV sounds

hbk6161

I'm brand new to metal detecting and very eager to learn!

Since I'm a newbie, I decided to read some reviews and buy a lower priced model to see if the new hobby would stick. If it does, then I will pay up to get a nicer model.

However, I took the Bounty Hunter Tracker IV out yesterday for the first time. I read the manual and completed the full set-up. I am having three problems that I am hoping to get help with:

1) The tones emitted from the detector (with and without headphones) is VERY low...almost inaudible. Is there a setting or something I can do to adjust this? My headphones have stereo/mono settings and volume adjustments. I fiddled with every possible combination and I couldn't get it to work.

2) When I turn the left nob on (to power), the needle automatically shoots to to about 1 o'clock on the dial. This didn't seem right and the manual didn't make note of it. When I have the disc over metal objects, the needle doesn't bounce either.

3) While hunting, the tone (that I could barely hear) would start to give off a continuous tone...without stopping. The manual suggested that I turn down the sensitivity and it would stop. It would, and I would scan again only to be greeted with the same tone until I completely turned the power off.

I'm really looking forward to hunting, but I didn't have any luck. Any advice would be much appreciated!

I have a new Tracker IV as well and the beeps are LOUD as heck. Thank goodness for volume control on my headphones or it would hurt my ears.

I've played with the controls a lot and I don't think there is a setting that would give me a continuous tone. Sounds like a problem to me. If it were me I'd return it for another unit.