False Positives?

futureicon

So.. coming from a newb, maybe some of the more experienced guys can answer this for me. I just got a new White's M6 and I'm still learning the detector. I've taken it to the park a couple of times and found your typical clad, but I've also toyed around in my yard and had some confusing results there. First off, after digging up piece after piece of aluminum siding scrap, I decided to turn the descrimination way up in order to narrow down the possibilities and rule out all the trash. So 3 seperate times I hit on something that registered up in the 25, 50, and dollar piece ranges on the VDI, and my detector said these items were anywhere from 4 to 6 inches down, so on 3 different hits I dug down about 6 inches until I hit solid clay, which I'd basically need a jack hammer to get through. I still had the strong signal, and never did find out what I was hitting on. What would you guys do under these circumstances? Go rent the jackhammer (joking), or cover it back up and move on as I did?

The 3-S Rule
Here's an old time-tested process to help you sort out trash from treasure. It's the 3-S rule, and goes as follows:

3-S is Sound, Shape and Size. Let's say you are hunting for coins and jewelry ....

If your target Sounds like a coin / ring - EG: Tone ID, Repeatable target, No Threshold drop (iron) then it passes the SOUND "S".

If your target is "the same Shape" from all angles when you pinpoint (a circle is the only shape that fits this criteria), then it is probably a "round" target, which is a coin / ring. You have passed the SHAPE "S".

If your target is less than a couple inches in width, then its probably a coin. You have passed the SIZE "S".