not discriminating !

tone541

hi, I have a new whites coinmaster pro. for some reason I'm digging up junk
even in the discriminating mode canceling out the pull tabs, bottle caps , tin
foil ,etc. my sensitivity is usually set high or one notch below. I use my coin
detector on an old school ground. I'm also digging up coins cents thru quarters. but the ratio of junk to coins is about 3 to 1. am I doing something wrong ?:shrug:

hi, I have a new whites coinmaster pro. for some reason I'm digging up junk
even in the discriminating mode canceling out the pull tabs, bottle caps , tin
foil ,etc. my sensitivity is usually set high or one notch below. I use my coin
detector on an old school ground. I'm also digging up coins cents thru quarters. but the ratio of junk to coins is about 3 to 1. am I doing something wrong ?:shrug:

I don't have a White's, but can say with some certainty that you're probably not doing anything wrong. I'm assuming you're new to detecting? Discrimination on most machines is a theoretical issue. Unfortunately, not all junk in the ground will give off a perfect "junk" signal. There are a lot of factors that can make a junk target false in the range of a good target. Although it's impossible to completely notch out all junk when only targeting a certain range, there are usually audio indications that will help the user discern junk from good targets (i.e. target edge artifact, repeatability of signal on a 90 degree swing, etc.). Recognizing these sometimes subtle hints can take practice and a trained ear though, so don't be discouraged if it takes a while to learn your machine's idiosyncrasies. However, the only way to know you're not missing any of the good stuff is to keep digging any "maybe" signal and take the junk with treasure. Hope that's on par. Otherwise, maybe someone else has a suggestion. Good luck. :yes:

BentRod is right on. Well stated.