ATP Noob

brianohio

Hey All

I'm new to md'ing and been educating myself on my new ATP the last few weeks. Haven't been anywhere other than my own property but that has kept me quite busy yet annoying since my two acres of old farmhouse property (1870) has more trash than a Sanford and Son reunion party. No kidding, I think I need to find and use a dirt detector because it's harder finding the dirt than the junk. I can't swing 2 feet without hitting on something and that's the problem. Even pinpointing is difficult. There is sooooooooo much rusted iron plate, iron nails, iron fittings, iron doodads and such that it is not much fun trying to figure this thing out.

I'm running in pro zero with iron discrim way up on 30 just to try to keep it to a minimum but its still a major PITA. Been getting major halos with the iron too, regardless what scrim setting or sensitivity I'm using. This very old and very rusted iron pings in around a solid 80-81 with a slight ramp up and roll off with lower vdi and audio as I pass over the ends so I'm learning how to tell that but the problem is I end up digging everything because I think i am missing good targets masked by the iron. It's a flipping iron minefield from small bits to very large plate. Aluminum, bullet casings, some brass fittings, plus everything else I've found and all the iron all read pretty much the same so it's quite difficult to be picky. I have found a few cool targets by default like a silver spoon, metal diecast model airplane, very old tin cup, but mostly just by digging junk because I can't really isolate anything due to the iron.