Here is a new find.

Attachments

• Token.jpg
    Token.jpg
    61.6 KB · Views: 560
  • Tokenback.jpg
    Tokenback.jpg
    129.9 KB · Views: 574
Couldn't resist looking up your Colonial Jack - here's what I found. I think the token you have has to be one of the actual coins referred to in the story...

The remarkable walk of Colonial Jack

Daily News of Newburyport

Back in 1908, a Newburyport man embarked on a remarkable walking trip of about 9,000 miles that took him around the border of the United States. Not only did he walk but he pushed a wheelbarrow carrying his needs. He constructed a pyramid-shaped top for the barrow to keep the weather out.

John A. "Colonial Jack" Krohn, a native of St. Peter, Minn., was married to Elizabeth Morton of Newburyport. At the time of his walk they had a 6-year-old daughter, Beatrice. Colonial Jack, as he liked to be called, was a printer by trade and had worked for several firms in the local area including The Daily News. To help meet expenses on his trip, he planned to sell a souvenir coin about the size of a silver dollar. On one side was a reproduction of himself with his wheelbarrow and on the reverse a brief description of his intended trip. His coin supplier would mail coins ahead to a post office along the route and Colonial Jack would pick them up when he got to that town. He sold hundreds of these coins.

His wife would travel by train and meet him from time to time. She would also go ahead of him and put up posters and seek publicity from local newspapers. As a result, he was greeted with great fanfare in most communities. He also carried a book and in each town he would go to the post office and get that town's postmark in the book. He also carried a pistol for his own protection. Throughout his journey, he rarely had to pay for meals or overnight accommodations as restaurants and hotels were eager to have a person of fame as their guest.