need advice water hunt

deftone

Hi all, I will be hunting saint Pete beaches for two days and wanted to take my infinium in the water. The beaches slope down into a trough then up a sand bar as I'm sure you understand. My question is, would the trough be the place to hunt? From the middle of the hi-low tide linedown is hard pack shells and then the trough has a good foot of fresh sand on top. Any advice from a water hunter? Back to LA on the 1st.

I'm no expert, but i would try in the trough and see what you get. The ocean does an amazing job of sorting materials for you, find out where the heavier coins are settling and where the aluminum pulltabs wash away to and you'll be able to hone in on an area where the goodies might be...You might find that at the point where the shell layer goes in to the water can hold some nice targets. Also, the sand might not be THAT deep over the shells and your machine should be able to punch through the sand and get the targets supported in the shell layer.
HH!

The trough will many times hold more trash but a good discriminating VLF water machine will work. I have no knowledge of your machine though. I use an Excal in those conditions.

Just curious as to how you know the beach conditions at St. Augustine? I think you are in California now. If you are guessing then I understand. You have really two beaches to hunt. Augustine beach is the most populated. Vilano Beach near by is lesser populated but some people have success there. Vilano is steep sloped, Augustine a little less. Watch for rip tides at Vilano. I understand St. Augustine hunters don't say much. Might be a good sign of a good beach. I am guessing like you. :lol:

thanks for the pdq response ..

Im out in saint Pete now. Checked the beaches for conditions during the negative tides. Found plenty of pull tabs old style and new. Think im in the zone?