• Forum server maintanace Friday night.(around 7PM Centeral time)
    Website will be off line for a short while.

You may need to log out, log back in after we're back online.

Truly can't decide. Minelab, Garrett or Fisher.

CerealEyes

The Xterra is $600, ATP around $550, and the f70 is $499.

The Xterra seems comparable in quality and options to the ATP but isn't water proof. The reviews are generally favorable.

The f70 is a great deal, but isn't water proof and the reviews on YouTube and forums seem mixed. But some people love it.

The AT Pro is clearly very popular but is that just good marketing? Time and again you see "can't go wrong with atp!" But is that mostly because everyone and their dog has one and it's generally good so people don't really know?

I'm a strong beginner but super committed and just want to make a good purchase! It seems like the general rule of thumb is any machine learned well, will work.

But we're still talking hundreds of dollars! So I want to make a wise purchase.

Then there's coils. Would any of these not work great with their stock coils? Should I care that much at this stage?

Such a difficult decision :(

Sincerely,

Confused in Utah

Sent from my SM-G930T using Tapatalk

(Talking about the Xterra 705 in all cases).

Also a local dealer told me he only does whites because Garrett's has a published 1/4 return rate.

That seemed like salesman hype but it definitely didn't help!

Do you know anything about your soil mineral levels in general???

If they are medium high or higher,,this does make some detectors better choices.

Do you know anything about your soil mineral levels in general???

If they are medium high or higher,,this does make some detectors better choices.
Hmm, great question. I'm in salt lake City, but I don't know whether we're mineral-y or not. Roughly 5% of my hunting will be at one of the saltiest beaches in the world, but that is definitely the exception, not the rule.