Please Help with detector choice

Ajruger

I have been scouring over this forum and youtube all day to the point that my eyes and brain are hurting and am torn on what detector to get. I have been looking hard at the AT pro/max. Teknetics also has some I am interested in. Equinox seems off the list cause I cant find one anywhere and Fisher F75 and patriot look decent as well. I am no expert on the matter and just do it for fun with the wife to get out of the house and enjoy the outdoors. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Forgot to mention Whites detectors too.

Last edited:
Hi -

I am by no means an expert, but I went through the same process not to long ago. I was considering the AT Pro and the Max. I ultimately went with the AT MAX for a little more to have wireless. Was it the “right choice” or the “best”, I think that is subjective as you will get lots of opinions.

For me.....I really like it for what I am doing.

I have been scouring over this forum and youtube all day to the point that my eyes and brain are hurting and am torn on what detector to get. I have been looking hard at the AT pro/max. Teknetics also has some I am interested in. Equinox seems off the list cause I cant find one anywhere and Fisher F75 and patriot look decent as well. I am no expert on the matter and just do it for fun with the wife to get out of the house and enjoy the outdoors. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Forgot to mention Whites detectors too.
If you want to hunt in water or live in an area with rain or snow, get a waterproof detector like the ATP. The at max is the upgrade and give you both auto and manual ground balance which helps if you hunt in an area with mineralized soil. Now if you want to hunt ocean beaches, that is a whole other ball game. Visit the beach section and the top thread has a guide for selecting salt water machines

Sent from my XT1650 using Tapatalk