Is it even worth hunting in NM?

shaz13

Hi all, I am new to this and have been getting very excited to join this incredible hobby but am now wondering (based on what I read) if New Mexico is even worth hunting. Most of your stories are based in the east. I rarely see southwest finds of any significance.

I know there is gold in NM but seems that it is all under claim and I cant hunt on private land.

I guess I am wondering if it is even worth spending ~700-1000 on a good detector that I cant find anything with or am not able to hunt with.

Help please from anyone who might know about hunting in the SW.

Well you can find clad, gold and silver jewelry anywhere and there has got to be some old coins there also just don't get your hopes up for finding 200 yr old stuff. And if you're new to the hobby I would not suggest spending $1000 on your first detector, you can get a nice one for $200-$400 that is about as good as the expensive ones just without the bells an whistles. I would look into the Fisher F2 or Garrett Ace250. JMHO hope this helps

Hi all, I am new to this and have been getting very excited to join this incredible hobby but am now wondering (based on what I read) if New Mexico is even worth hunting. Most of your stories are based in the east. I rarely see southwest finds of any significance.

Nope. Nothing of interest anywhere near the southwest...particularly in NM. Might as well not even bother looking. :laughing:

You are kidding, right? Just thinking about all the history in that state makes me want to go exploring--the Old Spanish trail ran there, there are dozens of ghost towns, stories of lost mines and treasures, etc. Modern people are constantly dropping stuff. If you're not swinging, it's a lot harder to find. :)

I would love to be able to take a month or 3 to detect NM. All the western towns and Spanish history makes me drool.