White's EAGLE Spectrum?

deer slayer

While digging around in a closet a few weeks ago I found my fathers old metal detector, a White's EAGLE Spectrum. I ordered a new battery and charger from White's and it fired right up. I am VERY new to the hobby, but I am learning the VDI scale fast and love finding "treasures"... I have already came across 5-6 Wheat Cents, a Buffalo Nickle, and lots and lots of junk :)... No silver yet... I detect almost every day, a few hours a day... I seem to be having problems picking up targets deeper than 4-5", I use the preset "beach/jewlery" program that was already in the unit... I have read the instruction manual about PRO settings, but do not fully understand them. Would adjusting them get me more depth??? If so, could anyone give me a layout on how to adjust them all??? PLEASE, its way over my head... I live in Southeast Missouri, and we dont have much mineralized soil. With the detector I also found two aftermarket coils; a White's BLUE MAX 800 Precision Scan 8" coil, and a HOT head High Energy 12" coil. Would either of those get me extra depth? Maybe taking off the coil cover on the factory Spectrum coil would give me more depth? Im not sure, I know I ask a lot of questions but im sure there are people out there with some answers! Please help out a newbie :)! Thanks guys/gals!!! Happy hunting

The Eagle Spectrum was ahead of it's time when it comes to the technology. Look at todays DFX and you'll see the Eagle Spectrum was just a single frequency version in a bigger box.

By far the 12" hothead will get you the best depth. Now if it's a real trashy site then either of the 8" coils will work best.