Possible privy?

ynnek4

I just received permission to detect a site where there were two 1916 houses. While I was at the site I noticed a very obvious 3-5 foot diameter depression behind where these houses would have stood. While I was there I also noticed random pieces of glass and ceramics. I was curious if privies were still being used around the time of these houses and if it would be worth going the extra step to probe it and possible undertake a digging? If I am correct, this date range sort of falls after the peak time.

I am probably going to go out this week and take some pictures and post them in this thread. Would this help identify if it is or not?

PS: I am a complete newbie when it comes to anything privy-related.:cool:

Thanks!

Sounds promising. There's also the possibility there were structures there before '16. Sounds like you need to get you a probe rod and see how it feels. You should have a different soil type that will feel different than the soil around it and usually encounter lots of bottles and what not on your way down. GL, HH and most of all, Have fun! :aok:

A privy will generally have 4 somewhat distinct corners, if it's more of a circular shape, it was probably a tree.

Sounds promising. There's also the possibility there were structures there before '16. Sounds like you need to get you a probe rod and see how it feels. You should have a different soil type that will feel different than the soil around it and usually encounter lots of bottles and what not on your way down. GL, HH and most of all, Have fun! :aok:
I happened to have a probe ready to go. Gonna go out there this week and post some pics here and let the experts decide if it is worth the effort.
A privy will generally have 4 somewhat distinct corners, if it's more of a circular shape, it was probably a tree.
Great info! Thanks!