• Forum server maintanace Friday night.(around 7PM Centeral time)
    Website will be off line for a short while.

You may need to log out, log back in after we're back online.

Prizm V

L

Lawrence

The Prizm series was designed to detect for coins and small artifacts. Is my Prizm V able to detect larger and deeper objects like a metal box about a foot and a half long, 8 to 10 inches high and 8 to 10 inches wide, buried about four feet deep in nonmineralized soil?
Thanks for sharing your information.
Lawrence

davyo

I have a prizm 5 and a minelab se , the prizm wont go muchdeeper than 6 to 7 inches i think , im no expert at all , just my opinion

Lawrence, I believe you would be far beyond the capabilities of your detector. It functions best at 8-10 inches and 12 would be a stretch.

Okay, I know I will probably get a few "doubters" replying to this but, I have detected large targets at close to two feet with my Prizm V. I know it was that deep because I carry a small shovel that is two feet long "just in case." Conditions were what I would consider very good though. It was clean sand and the targets were very large. (AL cans and those stupid drink pouches) I have never hit on any targets much past about 12 inches in average soil.

Here's a test you can try...