geocaching? what where why?

playin4funami

Elite Member
Okay I am new to this whole geocaching thing and not sure it would be much fun for me,but my son thinks it would be fun, I checked and there are alot of close goecache sites near me, now I just need someone to explain what I am supposed to do with it after we find it? Actually I think I found a couple while out doing other stuff,just did not know what they were, but thought it strange for someone to hang a can in a tree, then saw it listed as a geocaching site, so anyway whats it all about?

The Wiki.

A friend of mine who does it says for the most part you take what you find and leave something new for the next person.

Most geocaches contain various items plus a "log book". When you finally find a cache you sign the log with date and time, take an item (if you want) and leave an item for the next person.

I tried it a few times and it's fun but even more fun for the kids. Some of them take you to interesting places that you normally wouldn't visit and you learn a bit about the local history.

Good exercise combined with trying to find the cache once you hit the GPS coords. The "cachers" can hide things pretty darned good sometimes.

As advised...geocaching.com is a good starting place if you're thinking about it. They have caches listed and you can search within your area for any distance around you.

Now I just use my GPS when metal detecting to mark sites to be returned to.

Some people have a BAD sense of Humor. Here in New Mexico, they put one in a Pit known to have Rattle Snakes in it. :wow:

I did a little write up about this a little bit ago as a research idea. Here is the link:

http://metaldetectingforum.com/showthread.php?t=57791

I love geocaching. Tons of fun, gets you out of the house, and it really does show you area's around your home that you may not even know are there.