Newbie here understanding

scott1028

Newbie here need help understanding I have a harbor freight 9 function im just beginning ive only been at this since the last week of July
It seems my area is high in iron junk an high in mineralized soil
I am in a civil war revolution area however I'm not finding nothing prior to 1940s my house is only 1932 could this be why or has it been hunted out an I'm wasting my time
Or are there better settings I could use

Welcome to the forum.
Your 1932 house could have had a bunch of 1932 fill dirt brought in or a bunch of grading and people have been changing the landscape for almost a 100 years. A lot depends on what the property was used for before 1932. Nothing is ever hunted out if you are finding 1940 items especially coins there is a good chance you are the first detectorist to be there, but you are still wasting your time, waving a stick at the ground looking for change. There are worse ways to waste time, you could be playing golf.

Try a hunt with the sensitivity about 3/4 up and set a nickle on the ground in a fairly clean area and turn up the disc until the nickle no longer signals. That should help disc out some iron. Try the same thing with a pre 1982 copper penny but set the disc where it barely picks up the penny and that might help disc out some trash but still leave coin signals. Try all the same but with sens about 1/2 until you figure out what works best for your dirt. Good Luck and Happy Hunting

Scott, please take this in the way that I mean it. If you really think you're digging (pun intended) this sport, I would recommend you save your dollars and buy a better machine. I'm not knocking your machine, but there are definitely better machines out there at very reasonable prices. The new Simplex looks very interesting. Maybe look at a good used machine. Just don't want you to get frustrated and quit because of your detector. Good luck.