First venture into the water with CZ21

rob.ream258

Elite Member
ok.. I'm a noob in the water been in the dirt for over 6 years. Just got the CZ for about a month ago... been to the beach several times in only ankle deep or so ..... storms/rough weather every weekend kept me out of the water...

waves at medium....
no cuts...
no signals...
no clue....

In waist deep water I hit a signal..... have a T-Rex scoop that can eat through anything but I needed a third hand..... do people let go of the machine and use 2 hands to scoop or manage with just one??? Anyways....managed with one hand to fight the waves and dig.... the signal was about a foot down...... pull tab ring... success - managed to locate and fight the surf to recover my first signal...

sanded in.........??? what is that???.... that the reason for no signals???

hit the edge of the surf by a slight drop off (6-12 inches) where the shells were gathering but only found a couple pieces of can slaw...... good spot to hit....???

managed a few quarters in the dry stuff before going home....

I'm heading to the beach in s month or so with the atpro. I'm assuming I won't find much but corona caps, but all the gold posted keeps my hopes alive!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

One handed scooping, you will get used to it. You will get used to telling conditions, soft sand bad, nice tough bottom great, etc...

If your hitting flip tops a foot down it's time to find a new spot. If aluminum is sinking 12" How deep do you think gold is sitting?

Not even sure how I would use two hands to scoop since one hand seems so natural. So yes one handed scoop. Learn how to do it well on the beach then venture in the water.

The further you go in the water the cleaner (less signals) you should get. This is because people are not dropping their daily foil wrappers/etc there so its usually more clean.

Also learn to position yourself so waves are not going to knock you over.