Does useing headphones really pick up tones that you wouldn't hear without headphones?

TN_INDIAN

Forum Supporter
I'm still a newbie and just wondered does headphones enable you to hear tones from detector that if u didn't have headphones you would miss? Only experience with f2 and never used phones and have heard many deep faint signals without useing phones.

It also keep people from sending their dogs out after you.

You can hear more IF your detector is built to do that. Many many detectors are setup to amplify anything to an audio level you can hear easily.

Otherwise, it is a matter of where you are hunting. Next to a road - might want those earphones. Out in the woods when it is 95 degrees - maybe you don't need the phones if they are contributing towards heat fatigue.

I tend to hunt with phones 95% of the time or more. I have poor hearing and I also don't want to annoy anyone. It was also mentioned that it will save your batteries - I think you'll use your batteries at least 50% faster while using the speaker; recently forgot to take my headphones with me and flat-out drained a fairly new pair of 9v batteries.

Yes for me. My hearings bad and without headphones I would have to turn the threshold way up to hear those faint signals. Plus it keeps my ears warm.

Id say yes..I use them..(unless broken:wow:) for me it just lets me hear the initial hits from edge of targets(trash areas esp.)

Ok you guys have me sold I'm Getten some headphones after x mas. I'm thinking wireless headphones is better without the cord what u guys think?

I have used headphones and you will be able to concentrate more on your targets but the only thing i like on my head is my hat,can't stand those dang things over my ears,Now as far as battery life while using them,i can't see any difference in the drain on my batteries at all,using them or not.