Meteorites

beerbarrel

Is it hard to find meteorites with a MD? Before anybody comments please be advised that I have never used a MD before. Mine won't be here until Thursday. It's funny how my hobbies run much on the discovery side. I like electronics, Ham radio, astronomy, scientific stuff and the list goes on. I do want to find some coins but I want to find other stuff too!

Tracy

In all metal mode you can find them. But you would probably be digging alot of trash! I haven't found one yet myself, But I was lucky enough to find a few pieces of pyrite.

Maybe ?

I keep all of my hot rocks and so far I have about eight. One is very heavy and will draw to a magnet..I don't know what the heck I have.

Quote from one meteorwrong site: "For example, there have been only about 22 found in Missouri and 9 found in Illinois in the past 200 years."

So yep, you can find them. And you can consider yourself very lucky if you ever find one.

Voriax

They are there for the finding... and not all meteorites are magnetic. Go to a meteorite site and read about them.... very interesting. RickO

I found H.H. Nininger's works all very good reads. Not overly technical but really inspirational and had a lot of good advice from the father of meteoritics.

if you want to find a meteorite, my best advice is to do research. Yes that includes going to a library or public lands office.
1)learn about the different types: iron, mesosiderite, and stone and how they signal on your MD (most%from falls are stone variety, but most found are iron)
2)learn how to identify them in the field: both freshly fallen (fireball/bolide) and colder finds
3)search through areas where meteorites have already been discovered because they break apart during their descent, scattering many smaller pieces over many miles. (determine the direction of flight/strewnfield)

here are some useful sites to visit:

http://www.meteorite.com/Meteorite_Identification.htm
(check out the meteorwrong gallery)