So, is the Garrett the only pointer to consider?

bacon_wrangler

Like the signature says, total noob here. I'm rapidly finding out the the detector is only a fraction of the cost to really get started, so using a cat box pooper scooper to sift at the beach :p and making a pinpointer my next purchase. From what I've been reading, there are two styles: the Garrett ProPointer, and toys. I just wanted to ask straight out if I'm better off saving my money towards the Garrett instead of spending $50-ish on something else.

Thanks!

If you don't have the money to buy a Garrett Propointer then I would get the Bounty Hunter/Fisher Propointer - it is a very serviceable pointer, does the job it was intended to do and rugged as all heck. That is what I use and I have no complaints with it. The people that bad mouth it a)have never used it before or b)used it but did not take the time to learn how to use it correctly.

GL and HH!!!

Don't waste your money on anything else. The ProPointer is an awesome tool. I haven't tried the Minelab but I've heard it's a close second to the Garrett. I know that Garrett really stands behind their product and has excellent customer service.

I have to agree with the many posts touting the praises of the Prointer.
Save for one (fast!) you'll thank us later.

If it's going to be a while, check out a harbor freight unit (search on this site)
They are about $16 and will get you by.

I called Garrett about my Pro Pointer, told them that my grommet was falling apart from me abusing it ...smiles....they gave me a RMA and told me to send her on in....I've got nothing but good things to say about the Garrett Pro Pointer. I just bought a second one as a back up.

HDD

I am a big fan of my Garrett ATP, but...

I use a harbor freight pointer and it serves me just fine after modding it..

If I ever want a better one, or if I ask Santa for a better one, it will be a Minelab Pro Find simply because I have not heard any issues with reliability.