whites VDI #'s & questions....

prosise

Hello Ladies and Gents,

As I am new to the hobby I have run across some things that I was curious about. I will seperate the questions and if anybody has any input feel free to put in your .02$...

1. ABout how much of the time can you believe the VDI numbers. I quite often find something that reads a nickel/ring and ends up beind a pull tab. But other than this I have grown comfortable with the VDI numbers.

2. If I am getting depth readings that are off by 2 inches what can I do. I recalibrate and still reads same.

3. Does anybody have a good whites xlt VDI chart? I live in texas.

4. I have been stumbling upon a few digs lately that are a solid signal. Then when I dig I come up with nothing. I was in a spot this morning and was able to go after it with a shovel and still nothing surfaced. Not a hit when it was open and nothing in the dirt I removed. Any reason why this occurs?

5. What is a HALO.

Thanks

Prosise

p.s. I am using a whites Spectrum XLT.

Mode used is: coin & jewelry slightly modified.

response

Hello Ladies and Gents,

As I am new to the hobby I have run across some things that I was curious about. I will seperate the questions and if anybody has any input feel free to put in your .02$...

1. ABout how much of the time can you believe the VDI numbers. I quite often find something that reads a nickel/ring and ends up beind a pull tab. But other than this I have grown comfortable with the VDI numbers.

Vdi numbers are used as a guide and especially with cents usually do not sit on an exact number. The dime, quarter reading is quite accurate. Gold items usually show up on the lower end of the vdi scale, but if a larger item can be higher.

Nickels can be found on a regular basis, but usually my lowest count coin. The pull tabs usually give a broken response, the nickel response is usually a solid one and seems to generally stay on one number such as 18, 19 or 20.