Question for all the curbside hunters from a noob

shootinxs

Millersville, Lancaster County, Pennsylvania
Sorry for the dumb question as I'm relatively new to the hobby. So far I've only really detected farm fields so I'm not too familiar with Parks, schools, and curbside hunting but I'd like to give it a try. My question is this......

Do you guys specifically target just coins and discriminate against all iron? I would think your detector would go nuts around sidewalks or any concrete for that matter considering all the rebar that is in them.

A lot of sidewalks don’t have rebar but I don’t hunt curb strips because I don’t want to deal with people fussing that your digging on their yards when it’s city property. Door knocking is the best way to find the goods!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Last edited:
yes. If I'm hunting old-town curb-strips, I'm cherry picking. Thus, yes, kiss nails, foil, (and even tabs) goodbye. I'm usually checking for older silver. Thus yes: Kiss old nickels and gold rings goodbye also.

I figure that if I was all "hot and bothered" to find gold rings, then why (oh why oh why oh why) would I be hunting old-town urban parking strips in the first place ? :?: If that is someone's objective, their time is better spent going to where ratios are better spent, in the first place: Swim beaches. Not junky blighted parks, parking strips, etc....

I hunt a lot of parks. I tend to focus on high conductor targets (penny range and above) and nickel signals. Which means that I miss a lot of nails and other small iron, but dig a fair number of pull tabs.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

NCToad and myself have recently started hitting curb strips for the first time. They are very noisy in places, and not so bad in other areas. I hunt them just like anywhere else that I hunt. This equals a lot of trash, but pays off at the same time. I dug the only gold ring I have ever dug out of a curb strip. I would have put money on it being a can tab too.