Clarification for a New Guy, Please!

SpencerHunter

Hi everyone!

Sorry for the silly question...

But I am new at this and just needed a clarification.

I thought the whole point of the pull tab "icon" on my Garrett 1350 was to AVOID digging those targets, no? I have been passing all of those up!! : (

Here and on other forums I have been reading that gold rings often register as pull tabs and pull tabs should be always dug up.

Is this true? I am hitting mainly parks and playgrounds at the moment. But being in the Gold Country, I of course will be hitting ghost towns, the rivers, etc. before long.

Thanks for any help!

Cheers,

Spencer

Gold covers a broad range and often rings up as a pull tab or nickel. Someone else posted that a 14k gold ring registered as foil on their machine.

This is why so many people here will tell you to dig it all. Gold will hit on any machine in A broad range depending on size and Karat. That's what makes finding gold so challenging, especially in really trashy parks. If the area you are hunting isn't to trashy then dig everything.
Keith

You have to dig pull tabs to get gold. It can show in the foil, nickel, pull tab, screw cap, and I have even heard at least once that a LARGE ring showed up as a zinc penny. It is mostly a pull tab/nickel signal though. That is why it is so difficult to get the gold out of parks and school grounds, there are thousands of pull tabs in those places also and most people get tired of digging those pretty quick.

capt.

All the gold rings I have scanned(newer ones) are in the nickel range but I believe older (more gold) rings are in the pulltab range no?:grin: Also I find gold jewelry in the foil to nickel range!