Friendly Metal Detecting Forums   Myers Depot Metal Detectors
List all sponsors

Go Back   Friendly Metal Detecting Forums > Everything About Finds > Cleaning Your Finds

Reply
  
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-26-2020, 12:44 AM
L0S3R's Avatar
L0S3R L0S3R is offline
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Huntington, Wv
Posts: 1,845
Default I need a metal detection electrician.

I have an aqua media ocean light 250. 115 volts gc 50/60 watt 290

Weights like 20lbs, fully functional. Can and how can I turn it into an electrolysis machine? Itís got an on off switch. And a built I ln fan.

Any ideas?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 02-26-2020, 01:52 AM
Scooterjim's Avatar
Scooterjim Scooterjim is offline
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Springfield, Mo.
Posts: 1,059
Default

Sell it and buy an electrolysis unit?

I really don't understand what you are wanting to do? Are you wanting to use the ballast output? I think it would be way to high except in swimming pool.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 02-26-2020, 01:53 AM
L0S3R's Avatar
L0S3R L0S3R is offline
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Huntington, Wv
Posts: 1,845
Default

Originally Posted by Scooterjim View post
Sell it and buy an electrolysis unit?



I really don't understand what you are wanting to do? Are you wanting to use the ballast output? I think it would be way to high except in swimming pool.


Itís actsullsy a power ballast for mh lights


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 02-26-2020, 10:44 AM
EmuDetector's Avatar
EmuDetector EmuDetector is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: North VA
Posts: 497
Default

In my electrolysis for my finds and everyone else I have seen do it too, no one has stepped above the 12 volt area. I can't find anything on google about this specific machine you posted, but I am assuming it's a 115v power unit for lighting? Which, in my limited experience around, has no controls for voltage/amps etc. This could dangerous to have sitting around and running as an electrolysis setup.

To open it up and add the controls you'd need, you'd be much better off just buying a 12v supply on Amazon and running a new setup.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 02-26-2020, 04:01 PM
L0S3R's Avatar
L0S3R L0S3R is offline
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Huntington, Wv
Posts: 1,845
Default

Thanks guys


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 02-28-2020, 08:41 AM
CopyTech99's Avatar
CopyTech99 CopyTech99 is online now
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Ohio
Posts: 920
Default

Go to the junk store, and buy some power packs.

Don't short the leads out while using.

__________________
CTX3030 / GPP-AT & TRX / Wilcox #102 & #202 Trowels Oldest coin = 1822 Large Cent 150+ Wheats

Reply With Quote


Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.