new to metal detecting with ace 350 please help!!

73transam

HELLO everyone,
i am new to metal detecting. i am from reading pa but now live in hagerstown md.
i have the new ACE 350 with DD COIL. i think i am doing everything right as far as using it. i have only detected our land so far (the house was built in 1948) the only coin i found buried so far was a 1960 penny about 3-4 inches down.
i have been running it in coin mode and everytime i get a good ding ding lol and the screen says it is a coin. i dig and everytime it lied. i end up digging up a peice of tin siding or fence wire. I have dug about 20 good coin dings and on screen coin indicator and it is always trash. sooooo my question is do other people have this problem in coin mode with the ace 350 or 250?
do you think something is wrong with it? i am kinda thinkin i should have bought the fisher f-2. or would the f-2 do the same thing?
i know the on screen coin indicator cant always be right but i thought it was pretty dead on??? oh yeah i was in coin mode to day at the house and got a quarter sign and i dug it up well no quarter but it was a 1920's womens makeup compact? now why would that come up in coin mode?
so for the long read. just getting frustrated with this thing.

thanks in advance
rich.

everytime i get a good ding ding lol and the screen says it is a coin. i dig and everytime it lied. i end up digging up a peice of tin siding or fence wire. I have dug about 20 good coin dings and on screen coin indicator and it is always trash.

jackfunny.jpg
You don't want to know what Cheif said about the "ding dong" in this post. let me see if i can get some instructional vid linked on the ACE 350.... hold on a second

OK group hug
grouphug.jpg

how to tell if its working propery;
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fWofkoLruRw&feature=related

in the field with the 350;
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4yfCwQFw3iA&feature=related

reviews;