• Forum server maintanace Friday night.(around 7PM Centeral time)
    Website will be off line for a short while.

You may need to log out, log back in after we're back online.

What to buy for a kid

Bubbs

Hello

I would like to purchase a metal detector for my son who is turning 6. I don’t want to spend a ton of money as I have no idea if he will like the hobby(he says he will but he’s 6!!!)

Any recommendations on what to buy? Looking at reviews I see the Bounty Hunter TID junior seems to be highly recommended for a kid of his age. The problem is I am in Canada and everyone seems to be out of stock with no ETA for new stock while this pandemic is happening.

I also see the National Geographic Junior. I can’t find any reviews on this one. I want a beginner metal detector not a toy. Is the National Geographic Junior model ok for a beginner kid or is it just a toy?

Below are the two links for the two detectors I was looking at. Any help would be appreciated as I have no knowledge about metal detectors.

https://www.mastermindtoys.com/15369-Bounty-Hunter-Junior-Target-ID-Metal-Detector.aspx

https://www.amazon.ca/NATIONAL-GEOGRAPHIC-Adjustable-Waterproof-Lightweight/dp/B07CC8GYMP

Thanks in advance

Kevin

My nephews got these when they turned six to try it out. They enjoy them, but they are simple and don't have any fancy features. They use them on their own often, but if I'm around detecting with them all attention becomes fighting between digging and pin pointer holder

Link

Hello and welcome to the forum. Good question.

The problem is how much the shaft can be adjusted to fit your son, and the weight. In that realm most consider them little more than toys - like the ones you linked to. They like my first detector (the orange duck) when I was 10 with my dad, are only good for finding coins on the surface to maybe 1"-2" (3-5cm) if the soil is wet.