Tips, pointers needed ASAP!!! please

hunter081

Elite Member
tomorrow the wife and I are heading to the beach. I am a newbie still and have hunted the woods and tot lots for almost a month. I am kinda getting used to the ground hunting but not sand so my questions are with a ace 250
1. I have a 6.5x9 coil concentric and a 8.5x11DD. Which should i use/
2. Im looking for jewelry what should I notch out, iron, foil??? or not
3. should I run max sensitvity?
4. do i swing as close to the sand as possible or on the sand?? meaning do u guys/gals actually skim the surface with your coil since its sand?

and anything else you could help me out with. Its 3.5 hours away and im only going tomorrow so i have just one shot at this for awhile :)

Thanks all, Leo

I would use the larger 8.5 x 11 DD coil.

Notch out iron only. Gold can fall into anything between coins and iron.

Run max sensitivity, provided the area isn't trashy. I usually run max at the beach.

Swing about one inch off the surface of the sand. Sometimes when I find something I will go back and forth a couple inches right on the sand to zero in on it's location. I don't use the pinpoint function much.

What no nuggets said is perfect , you can also run the wet sand but your sensitivity may need to be lowered. if you bump the wet sand it will false. low tide can be your friend and good luck

I'm no expert...really.:D....but I think if go in the wet sand....you will have to lower sensitivity as others have said... but remember you may need to clean the coil off especially going from wet to dry sand...you may get some falsing...good luck..

For jewelry, the best coil would be the smallest you have. Take a thin gold necklace or bracelet (right now, at home) and swing both coils over it - see which one picks it up best (if at all). Generally, the smaller the coil, the better it can find thin gold chain.