Do you guys make money from metal detecting?

mindspike

I ordered me and my wife metal detectors today. They should be in friday I hope.

I'm just wondering if you guys actually make a profit?
If so how rare is it to make some money?

I'm not in it just for the money, I really just want to find some old relics and stuff around old house plots on my grandmothers land, but just thought I would ask.

Good question ms - As for me I have been doing this for 31 years now, go out 2-3 times per week now in retirement and usually realize about $1700.00 per year. This comes from coins cashed in as well as gold & silver sent to the refinery.
We all find an outstanding item once in a while to boost things up as well. Good luck - in it for the fun & not the bux is the key to happy detecting, steve in so az

Personally, I lose money each year...but I don't hunt for coins and precious metals. I primarily hunt for spend bullet casings and shotshell heads. I do also find a good amount of logging and railroad relics. but I don't sell any of my relics. This year, I found $0.04 in cash, one Wheat Penny and one Silver Quarter.

If you take a look at the signatures of many of the members, you will see the coin/clad count for they year.

Money can be made, but not by me.
Doug

Not so far here. If you do make a profit it is a good part luck in finding the right coin of item. People who find the hoardes are the exception and not the rule.

Well, yes and no.

Yes, if I sold all my finds, I'd certainly make more money than I invested in the hobby. But would it equal minimum wage for the hours spent looking for them? Not even close.

And since I don't sell them, I guess I don't make any money!

the reward for diggin old silvers and coppers.........priceless

I've got around $3000 invested in the hobby and to date have only found about $25 in coin and 1 silver ring maybe worth around $10. So, no profit yet but at this rate I should start seeing profits in about 30 years :)