A Short guide to writing Metal Detector reviews.

Artur C.

I've been going through the reviews on metaldetectorreviews.net and other forums/review sites have found some atrocious "reviews" whether favorable or unfavorable towards a particular detector. I have to say that 90% of them are completely useless. So why the post? Because these reviews don't do anyone any good and confuse new users about what their choices really are when purchasing a new machine. A bad purchase can dissuade a new THer from ever becoming a seasoned detectorist.

So here is what you need and don't need to put into the review.

First and foremost when making a judgement about a piece of equipment, it is important to note your experience level with the hobby and with the machine. Reviews from veterans as well as newbies are important. A great way to gauge the worth of a piece of equipment is to see how all operator levels react to each machine. If I'm a newbie I want to know what a newbie think of a metal detector. If I want a sophisticated detector, I want to know what good operators think of it and vice versa.

Second, get down and explain each feature you think is important and whether it works or not. For example, if the coil is too small or pinpoints poorly, state this clearly. If you think the signagraph is a worthless feature, say so and say why. Same goes for build quality, etc etc etc. Be specific. Report your findings.

Third. Don't bash other reviewers for disagreeing with you. This is mostly due to bad reviews and people not being specific about their complaints. Reviews devolve to a bad forum post with bickering. A turnoff for potential new users and buyers.

Fourth. Don't use the review as a medium to bash a machine because you purchased it and don't like it, and to tout something different. Report your findings and state the shortcomings. To be sure, comparisons are great but don't make blanket statements.