• Forum server maintanace Friday night.(around 7PM Centeral time)
    Website will be off line for a short while.

You may need to log out, log back in after we're back online.

Ace 400 vs AT Pro vs Equinox 600

Trekker519

Hi,

Garrett Ace 400 vs Garrett AT Pro vs Minelab Equinox 600

these seem to be the three detectors that are the most highly regarded in the general price point I would like to spend, however the minelab is a bit more expensive than I want to spend.

I have no experience detecting. The main purpose for initially buying will be detecting for relics (possibly something that is steel and quite deep). I am not sure what the soil is like where I want to do this first big hunt hunt. (after much practice I am sure). From what i know there likely will not be much "junk" at the site. After that I will try general detecting in the areas everyone does but probably not as many beaches.

Is the Ace 400 good enough for this? What would the advantage of the AT pro or equinox be over the 400 for a relic hunt, probably deep, with unknown soil.

i can provide more details if required to help people give me their opinion. I want to spend as little as possible at the same time be fairly confident that if i went over the same area with the more expensive detector on this list i likely would not find things missed.

Hi,

these seem to be the three detectors that are the most highly regarded in the general price point I would like to spend, however the minelab is a bit more expensive than I want to spend.

I have no experience detecting. The main purpose for initially buying will be detecting for relics (possibly something that is steel and quite deep). I am not sure what the soil is like where I want to do this first big hunt hunt. (after much practice I am sure). From what i know there likely will not be much "junk" at the site. After that I will try general detecting in the areas everyone does but probably not as many beaches.