How do you find sites?

Relichunter3

Elite Member
I am not new to detecting, but I am new to detecting in the United States. I am completely lost as to how you find your locations to detect. In Germany, it was fairly easy, however here I look at a map and all I see is a piece of paper. Im amazed at how you guys find civil war era camps and other random areas to detect.....How do you do it??

Derick

Google Earth is a great way to find vacant lots & the pro version lets you see
when the house or building was built. Even though a lot is vacant there may
have been a residence there at one time. Sometimes I just drive around & look
for old houses & ask for permission to hunt the yard, this works sometimes but
not always. Good luck.

Another place to start the local Historical society small towns usually open once a month , just be chatty
HH

If you can talk to some local people who have been around for a while, they might be able to help you.

It depends on what you're looking to be hunting for.

Historic aerials, Historic Map works, David Rumsey Maps, and go to the county GIS department and get a landowners map. Sometimes they also have a historic map

Originally Posted by BufordCityDawg View post
Find a local club. They will have great info on the local area. Also, you can plant tracking devices on their cars.

BCD

You think I'm kidding. I planted on on Sandy's car. Now I know what parks not to hit because he's already cleaned them out. It's depressing really. Dude gets around more than a well... We'll just leave that alone. This is a family forum after all.

BCD

Originally Posted by BufordCityDawg View post
Find a local club. They will have great info on the local area. Also, you can plant tracking devices on their cars.

BCD