Newbie to the hobby/sport/craft?

nspector

Hello everyone,

I am new to the hobby and I have not went on my first hunt yet. I live in Huntsville, Alabama and just received my detector in the mail this past Monday. My detector of choice was the Teknetics T2+. I purchased the bundle that came with the pinpointer, headphones, digging tool, carry bag. I also purchased the detectorist's waist pouch. I am eager to take it out. I work in Cyber Security and I do not want a hobby that involves looking at a computer monitor ie. gaming. I want to find coins and maybe some relics.

Looking forward to learning a lot from the greats on here.

Welcome from Winnsboro, South Carolina !!!!

Try a practice hunt first in your own yard, that way you can get used to your detector and also practice digging and replacing a plug.

Some people might be surprised what they might find in their own yard, after that when detecting elsewhere the key is location, location, location.

:mder:_____:mder: _____:mder:_____:mder:

Welcome from Winnsboro, South Carolina !!!!

Try a practice hunt first in your own yard, that way you can get used to your detector and also practice digging and replacing a plug.

Some people might be surprised what they might find in their own yard, after that when detecting elsewhere the key is location, location, location.

:mder:_____:mder: _____:mder:_____:mder:

Thank you, I live in an apartment so digging in the yard is not feasible. But I understand what you are saying about digging the plug and covering the hole again.

Welcome from south of you in Birmingham.
The dirt in this state is challenging but doable, right now it is probably so dry and rock hard it is tough to dig anywhere and not make a mess but the good news is that won't last forever.
When actual fall hits and we get a few rains the dirt softens up and stays that way through the winter and spring up until it gets hot again, at which point I usually take a break.