Newbie here

karst_runner

Hello,

Detecting is something I've wanted to do for a long time.

Can anybody offer some advice?

I could potentially have a budget of $1500 for a detector. My target would be coins and possibly jewelry. I'd rather spend $750, but I'm positive it'd be something I'd enjoy.

I looked at a White's MX sport, but realized I need to do some homework before jumping in. I'll take all recommendations.... Cheers / Thanks!

Sent from my GM1917 using Tapatalk

I would not buy a Whites... even know I love them they are going under..

Save some money and buy a Minelab Equinox the 600 should be fine to use.. unless you want the wireless headphones included then the 800.

Welcome from GA.

Lots of great units out there. A few I like are the E-Trac, Explorer SE Pro, XP ORX, and Makro Multi Kruzer.

If one wanted to get in with maximum bang for buck the Vanquish 340/440/540 would be it IMO.

GL and happy hunting!

Welcome to the forum.
Depending on what areas you plan to hunt and what type of soil conditions exist. These are the two choices that I like and use.
Saltwater Beach, Wet or Dry Sand, Shallow Water - Minelab Equinox 600 or 800 (800 What I have) plus sand scoop.
Relic Hunting - XP Deus plus digging tools.
Both of the above detectors will do the dry and damp sand, find coins and jewelry.
Only the the Minelab is waterproof and Multi-Frequency.
The XP Deus is a Single Frequency detector but is the lightest between the three mentioned above and is my favorite detector to use on a long hunt.
Please do your research before you purchase as Whites is out of business as already mentioned.
Good luck!

To put it simple, if you live within a hundred miles radius of me, get anything but the NOX. But if you live further than the 100 miles, I would get the NOX 800.

Either Nox.
Not perfect but both good all around and very productive if you learn them.
Waterproof, supposedly, so if you are planning on getting near or in water a good choice.

Fisher F75